User roles in Qorus determine the features that a user is able to access by default, and the four roles available are:
The roles that you see in your Qorus Content Hub depend on the plan you're on:
- Premium: All four of the above roles are available.
- Essential: The Admin, Standard and Guest roles are available. You won't see the Designer user role because designing smart content is a Premium-only feature, and not available on the Essential plan.
- Free: The Admin and Standard roles are available. Here again, the Designer user role is not available since Free customers don't have access to advanced design features. There's also no concept of a free Guest because, well, all users are already free on the Free plan.
You should also know that it's possible to override the default permission levels for the Admin, Standard and Designer roles. You can find the permission override settings in Hub Central here:
To learn about adding Guest users, go to the Guest user role section below.
The Admin User Role
If you’ve signed up for a Qorus Hub, you are automatically assigned to the Admin user role.
The Admin user role carries the highest level of permissions and has access to all Qorus features, across all of Qorus. There are no limits to the number of Admin users you can have.
In cases where there is more than one Admin user in your Qorus Content Hub, you can choose who you'd like to make the 'Primary Admin'. The 'Primary Admin' receives join requests and notices about upcoming subscription renewals.
The Standard User Role
The Standard user role has access to all the features available within the Qorus Add-ins, with the exception of the 'Design' pane in the Word and PowerPoint add-ins.
Standard users do not have the ability to configure and manage your Qorus Content Hub. For instance, Standard users can't add new users, can view but can't add or make changes to Content Sources, or create campaigns.
The Designer User Role
This is almost the same as the Standard role, but with one important difference: Designer role users can design smart content and have access to the 'Design' pane in the PowerPoint and Word Add-ins. Other than that, Designer users have access to the same features Standard users do, and they do not have the ability to manage or configure your Qorus Content Hub.
Usually, users belonging to the Designer role are content managers or power users who create and manage smart content and templates used by the rest of the organization.
Please note that the Designer user role is only available for customers on the Qorus Premium plan.
The Guest User Role
For customers on a paid Qorus subscription (either on the Essential or Premium plans), there's no limit to the number of free guest users you can have.
Guest users have limited access to your Qorus Content Hub, and can only do the following:
- Install and use the Qorus Add-ins
- Access the Home pane features in Hub Central and in the Add-ins
- Access the Search pane features in Hub Central and in the Add-ins
- Search and use OneDrive for Business content ONLY in Hub Central and in the Add-ins
- Collaborate with you and work on assignments allocated to them (Important: Guest users can only have up to five concurrent active assignments at a time, across all documents, and across all of Qorus)
Guest users don't get added to your Qorus Content Hub in the same way as you would add Admin, Standard or Designer role users in Hub Central. Instead, guest users are added to Qorus automatically whenever a licensed user on your hub creates an assignment for a coworker who does not have a Qorus license.
You can learn more about creating assignments here.
After you've created their first assignment, the Guest user will receive a Welcome email from Qorus, inviting them to get started by installing the Qorus Add-ins. They will need the Add-in for Word in order to collaborate with you, and respond to the assignment you've allocated to them.
They will also show up under Settings > User Management in Hub Central as Guests. From there, you can manage them like you would any other licensed user - including disabling their access, if needed, or upgrading them to a paid license role.